Skip to content

The Smiling Gainey

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spare me the fellatio jokes. I didn’t catch all of this game, but what I did see was inspired goaltending from Price, a lot of Penguin shots and a quick whistle that wasn’t so quick. Apparently referee Chris Lee (no, not Count Dooku) couldn’t stick the whistle in his mouth as fast as he wanted to, and wound up blowing it a split second after the puck went in the net.

Now I can understand a referee saying “ah hell guys, I had to sneeze. I was going to blow it down when I thought Fleury had the puck covered but by the time I did – the Habs scored.” Now if I’m in that position I follow it up with “but I’m glad I didn’t because I would have looked like a moron for such a quick whistle when the goalie didn’t even have the puck.” In every other profession you’d actually want that decision taken out of your hands so that you don’t end up looking like a blithering tit. Not in the good old NHL though. In the NHL, honesty trumps common sense, even when given a chance to fudge your way out of a near mistake.

It may be honest, but it’s fucking asinine.